
 
 

 

Edmund G. Brown Jr., 

Governor 

State of California 
Health and Human Services Agency 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION 
PROVIDER REFERENCE GUIDE 

FOR HEARING AID SERVICES AND DEVICES 

Introduction 

The Department of Rehabilitation (DOR) is the state department charged 
with the vocational rehabilitation of adults and transitioning high school 
students with significant disabilities (collectively known as consumers). The 
DOR’s mission is to assist consumers to achieve their employment goals, 
maintain successful employment, and live independently. Assisting 
consumers to reach these goals may include purchasing hearing aids, 
accessories, and professional services. The DOR highly values and 
appreciates all of the health care providers on the panel. 

The DOR’s Payment Rates 

The DOR payment rates are comparable to the Medi-Cal rate schedules. 
However, the DOR may also purchase additional services and devices not 
covered by Medi-Cal in order to meet a DOR consumer’s vocational 
rehabilitation needs. 

Hearing aids are paid at the one-unit wholesale cost of the make and model 
of hearing aid from the manufacturer. 

Ear molds are paid at the wholesale cost plus $37.81 per pair of ear molds 
or singular ear mold if only one is purchased, based on wholesale 
documentation from the manufacturer. Split purchasing is not allowed. 

Hearing aid accessories are allowed up to a 20% markup based on 
wholesale cost documentation from the manufacturer. 

Taxes and shipping are reimbursed for the actual costs paid according to the 
manufacturer’s wholesale invoice. Taxes and shipping charges are subject 
to DOR adjustment if the wholesale manufacturer’s invoice is not enclosed 
with the provider’s invoice. 
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Professional service fees are paid to accompany a hearing aid purchase as 
follows:  

 $500 for monaural / CROS 

 $800 for binaural / BiCROS 

The payment fee for the professional services includes: 

 45-day hearing aid trial period 

 8 premium batteries per hearing aid  

 Manufacturer’s warranty 

 6 follow up visits after completion of the trial period including, but not 
limited to: training, hearing therapy, adjustments to hearing aids and 
accessories, re-programming, and cleaning. 

Rates for the various evaluations and individual hearing tests performed 
prior to hearing aid recommendations are available upon request. 

Prompt Payment Commitment 

The DOR follows the California Prompt Payment Act, which requires state 
agencies to make payments not more than 45 days after the receipt of a 
properly submitted and undisputed invoice. 

Pre-Purchase Professional Services 

Some pre-purchase services may be performed by an audiologist or a 
medical doctor. Some services can be performed concurrently in the same 
office visit; others may need to be performed by different providers or at 
different office visits. 

The pre-purchase professional services include, but are not limited to: 

 Otological/ENT evaluation 

 Audiological evaluation 

 Hearing aid evaluation/assessment 

 Ear Impression  

 Electroacoustic analysis  

 Impedance audiometry 

 Tympanometry 
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The DOR requires a written evaluation report with a specific 
recommendation for devices or services. The report should be submitted 
within 10 business days from the date the evaluation was completed. 

Evaluation reports should include:  

 Narrative report on hearing disability or a completed Medical Report on 
Hearing Disability (DR 223D) 

 Results of otological/ENT evaluation, audiological evaluation, and/or 
hearing aid evaluation/assessment report* 

 Justification for the recommended hearing aid/device(s) based on the 
consumer’s medical and vocational needs 

*Reports may be submitted separately or as combined reports, depending 
on if they were conducted by the same provider or by different providers.  

Hearing Aid Device Recommendation form (DR 358H) 

The Hearing Aid/Device Recommendation form (DR 358H) should be 
submitted with the evaluation report. This form itemizes the costs for the 
hearing aids, accessories, ear molds, and at-purchase professional services. 
This form has been revised as of January, 2014.  

If you have or receive any DR 358H forms in your office with a revision date 
prior to 01/2014, please discard.  

The provider submitting the recommendation for the hearing aids, 
accessories, ear molds, and professional services can submit a catalog list 
sheet for each tangible item listed on the DR 358H as supporting cost 
documentation for the initial DOR authorization. 

Single Authorization1 

No services may be provided or paid for without a DOR authorization 
document. Only those services authorized on an official DOR authorization 
will be honored at the time of invoice. 

Once the evaluation report, DR 358H Hearing Aid/Device Recommendation 
form (and its accompanying cost documentation, if applicable) are received, 
the DOR reviews and determines the appropriateness of the purchase in 
alignment with the consumer’s employment goal and plan. 

When the DOR is ready to purchase the device(s) for the consumer, the 
DOR will send the provider a single written purchase order authorization (DR 

                                      
1 Does not include Bone Anchored Hearing Aids (BAHA) or Cochlear Implants (CI) 
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297D) itemizing all services and devices based on cost documentation from 
the DR 358H Hearing Aid/Device Recommendation form, including the 
hearing aids, ear molds, accessories, and professional services. The DOR 
will also include a blank Medical Device/Appliance Dispensing form (DR 
363) for the provider to complete at the time of dispensing.  

Dispensing the Hearing Aid and Accessories 

At the end of the dispensing appointment, the provider scans / faxes / mails 
the Medical Device/Appliance Dispensing form (DR 363) to the DOR 
counselor. The date entered as the “Dispense Date” is the day the consumer 
takes possession of the hearing aid/device and marks the beginning of the 
45-day trial period and the warranty period. 

The consumer is legally entitled to a 45-day trial period for the hearing 
aid(s)2. The DOR will be in communication with the consumer and provider 
during this time period. Within this timeframe, if the hearing aids are not 
meeting the needs of the consumer or the consumer indicates 
dissatisfaction, please contact the DOR counselor immediately.  

Billing the DOR for Hearing Aids, Ear Molds, Accessories, and 
Professional Services 

DOR invoicing guidelines can be found online at this website: 
http://dor.ca.gov/Public/Invoicing-Guidelines-for-Vendors.html. Along with 
general information for all vendors, the website includes a link to more 
specific information for health care providers. 

 The provider’s invoice for the hearing aid(s) must include the make, 
model, date of purchase, and consumer’s name. 

 The provider can invoice for hearing aids, ear molds, accessories, and 
professional fees immediately following dispensing hearing aids and 
accessories to the consumer. 

 The DOR is required to verify with the consumer that goods and 
services were received prior to paying the invoice. 

 Providers are paid at the rates listed in this document in the section 
entitled “The DOR’s Payment Rates.” 

 Attach any comparable benefits documentation and manufacturer’s 
wholesale invoice when billing the DOR. 

 

 

                                      
2
 California Civil Code, Article 3, Section 1793.02 
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Step-by-Step In-Depth Guide 

This section provides a description of each step in the hearing aid purchase 
process. See the sections above for more detailed information on policies, 
processes, and documentation. 

Step Purchase Phase Action 
Standard 

Actor 

1 Pre-Purchase 
Obtain prescription, recommendation, or 
medical clearance for a hearing aid device 
from physician. 

DOR 
Office 

2 Pre-Purchase 
Authorize audiological and hearing aid 
evaluations. 

DOR 
Office 

3 Pre-Purchase 
Complete an audiological report and / or 
hearing aid evaluation report. 

Provider 

4 

Hearing Aid 
Device 

Recommendation 
(DR 358H) 

Recommend a specific hearing aid device 
and any related accessories, itemizing the 
costs for the hearing aids, accessories, ear 
molds, and professional services. 

Provider 

5 
Billing for 
evaluation 

Invoice the consumer’s insurance if coverage 
is available for the evaluations. 

Provider 

6 

Hearing Aid 
Device 

Recommendation 
(DR 358H) 

Submit the completed report and 
recommendation to DOR. If the consumer 
does not have insurance coverage for the 
audiological and hearing aid evaluation, 
submit the evaluation service invoice to DOR, 
along with any denial letters received from the 
insurance carrier (if applicable). 

Provider 

7 
Hearing aid 

authorization 

Send the provider a written purchase order for 
the hearing aid(s), ear mold(s), accessories, 
and professional services. 

DOR 
Office 

8 
Dispensing the 

hearing aid 

Dispense the hearing aid and accessories to 
the consumer, including any necessary fitting 
and programming. 

Provider 
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Step Purchase Phase Action 
Standard 

Actor 

Invoice the consumer’s insurance if coverage 
is available for the hearing aids, ear molds, 
accessories, and professional service fees. 

9 
Billing for the 
hearing aid 

package 

If the consumer’s insurance does not cover 
any items in the hearing aid package, submit 
the itemized invoice to DOR, along with any 
denial letters received from insurance carrier 
(if applicable). 

If the consumer does not have insurance, bill 
DOR directly. 

Provider 

Include all required paperwork listed in the 
section above entitled “Billing the DOR for 
Hearing Aids, Ear Molds, Accessories, and 
Professional Services.” 

10 
Verification of 

goods and 
services 

Verify with consumer that goods and services 
were received prior to payment of invoice. 

DOR 
Office 

The consumer goes through a trial period, up 
to the legally mandated 45 days. Consumer 
decides if he/she is satisfied with the hearing 
aid device and communicates with DOR. 

11 Trial period 

a. If the consumer is satisfied, DOR 
documents the satisfaction and 
audiologist/dispenser allows up to 6 
follow up visits as needed. 

b. If the consumer is not satisfied, 
consumer returns to 
audiologist/dispenser to try on a new 
hearing aid. No new professional 
service fees are paid. 

Consumer/ 
DOR 

Office/ 
Provider 
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