Offered by the Disability Access Services of the Department of Rehabilitation

Training Description

Get familiar with the basic provisions of the California's Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).


This training is a pre-requisite to Practical Solutions to Reasonable Accommodations.


As a result of attending this class, participants will be able to:

  • Gain understanding of disability issues that impact hiring/retention of individuals with disabilities.
  • Learn the basic disability employment terms and concepts outlined by the California’s Federal Employment Housing Act (FEHA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
  • Understand the fundamentals of the reasonable accommodation and interactive process.
  • Identify online training resources that will further the understanding of FEHA and ADA employment requirements.

Intended Audience

Designed for personnel responsible for implementing or oversight of their department's reasonable accommodation and return to work process.

Scheduled Times

This is a two-hour training.

Cost Per Person

$175.00 per person



Zoom is a communications platform for video, voice, content sharing, and chat that runs across mobile devices, desktops, telephones, and room systems.

Zoom Help for first time users

Available Dates


Registration is first come, first serve. Send an email to with the following information:

  • Name:
  • Agency:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
  • Supervisor’s Name*:
  • Supervisor’s Email:
  • Requested Training Dates:
  • Reasonable Accommodation** request:
  • How did you find out about the training?
  • Name or email of whom to send the invoice to?

*Include supervisor's approval when submitting request. Registration requests will not be processed without supervisor approval.

**Please send a separate email to DASTraining titled “Reasonable Accommodation for Training mm/dd/yyyy.” Briefly state what services are needed for reasonable accommodation.


Invoices will be sent the day after attendance of the training with payment instructions. Per State Administrative Manual Chapter 9, payment is due within 45 days of receipt. Should you choose to pay in advance or have registration questions, contact or call the DAS main line at 916-558-5755.

Bring this class to your facility

We offer the option of providing this training to your employees for up to 30 attendees. Contact Disability Access Services Training at 916-558-5755 or via email at for additional information.

Contact DAS

For additional information about DAS services or questions about the Americans with Disabilities Act and other disability related laws, send your questions to Disability Access Services at